Tents and Teslas

I just came back from an aborted walk along the sea front because at the end of April, at midday, it was seven degrees and blowing a gale… and in my local park, people were living in tents. If I turned the camera around from the above photo you would see a line of fancy cars, Teslas, Range Rovers and even a four by four Porsche, many of these also had personalised number plates too. Behind the cars, many of the buildings had scaffolding up them, ready for a coat of the ubiquitous heritage paint that marks yet another house being gentrified and removed from the budgets of those that grew up here who live in slums on the edges of town and now in tents in the park.

This is what this nation has become, a polarised land of the obscenely wealthy and the shamefully poor.

The four by fours are telling too; the rich’s solution to the crumbling roads and infrastructure. Why fix the country with fair taxes when you can buy yourself out of any inconvenience this society has caused?

I hate what this town has become.

I hate what the Tories have done to my country.

You can read more about the housing crisis here